The Adelaide Cello Quartet was founded in 1983 at the University of Adelaide as the basis of an ensemble of twelve cellos, resident at the University of Adelaide, South Australia. Through its many tours in Australia and Europe as well as TV and Radio broadcasts the Ensemble rapidly gained an enviable reputation for its innovative programming and its high standard of playing. Since 1990 the Adelaide Cello Quartet has been based in Europe and has performed extensively in France, German, Spain and Switzerland, as well as in South Korea.

"...the Adelaide Cello Ensemble is possibly unique in the collective excellence of its playing"
(Sydney Morning Herald)

“.....ten times more romantic and sensuous than a string orchestra"
(The Advertiser, Adelaide)

“.....the Adelaide Cello Ensemble treated the audience to an evening memorable for the lush variety of its repertoire and the skillfulness of its playing"
(Badische Zeitung, Freiburg)

“..... a vast palette of tone colours"
(Sulmona Giornale)

J.S. Bach (1685-1750) Kontrapunctus Nr. 1 (bearb. John Benz)
H.Purcell (1658-1695) Pavane - Chaconne (bearb. John Benz)
J. Haydn (1732-1809) Divertimento in D Andante - Allegro , Menuetto, Fuga
B. Kelly (1929-) 3 Spanish Pieces Maestoso - Allegro, Largo
W. Fitzenhagen (1848-90) Ave Maria, Op. 41 Konzertwaltz
A. Pärt (1935- ) Fratres
A. Vivaldi (1678-1741) Konzert in g moll (bearb. John Benz) Allegro, Adagio, Allegro

Adelaide Cello-Quartet

2007 Markus Kaulartz — Imprint